Job Chapters 8-10: A Cry for a Mediator

Posted on Updated on

A Cry for a Mediator

Job is getting lower and lower before God. Actually, I think he is heading for a major depression. In Job’s mind, this distance between the Creator and the finite creature that he made is very great. “He’s not a man like me that I could confront in court. If only there was someone to arbitrate between us, someone to lay his hand on us both.”

Bingo! That is what it is all about! That has been the need of every human heart since Adam blew it in the garden. Job knew how to make his burned offerings and he understood that somehow God used that as a means of accepting him. Right now, though, in his hour of need when it seemed as though the Lord had deserted him, he needed an umpire—an arbitrator—someone who would plead his case with God and also speak to him what the Lord had to say.

That, my friend, is what Jesus is all about! Right now, Job did not have that arbitrator, but we do! “What then, shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us? Both the one who makes men holy and those who are made holy, are of the same family! . . . You are no longer a slave, but a son; and since you are a son, God has made you an heir.”

Job not only wanted, he needed someone to lay his hand upon them both, someone to remove God’s rod . . . “then I would speak up without fear of Him, but as it stands now with me, I cannot.”

But because Jesus is our advocate and high priest, God invites us to come “boldly before Him and receive Grace and Mercy in our times of need.”

But Job has become so weary of life he says he must give free rein to his complaint and speak out in the bitterness of his soul. “I will plead with God.”

The following few verses are, as Psalm 102 is called, “A prayer of an afflicted man when he is faint and pours out his lament before the Lord.” So accept it as that and see if you can get a real feel for Job’s pain.

“Don’t condemn me, but tell me what charges you have against me. Does it please you to oppress me? Do you see as a mortal sees? Are you judging me like these men, and searching me for some secret sin when you who know all hearts, know I am not guilty?

“I am in your hands, Lord. You shaped me and made me yet you are destroying me. Are you going to turn me into dust again?

“I know your character enough to know that you won’t overlook any transgression in your children. If you did see anything that is ‘wicked’ then it will be ‘woe to me’ and you will deal severely with me.

“Even if I am innocent, I cannot lift up my head; I am filled with shame.

“I don’t understand any of it and I want so much to be cleared of any unrighteousness if only you would tell me . . .”

If you are interested, you can download the whole study of Job.

Other Bible Studies and Commentary are available at Doulos Studies.

Leave a Reply

