Job: The “White Night”

Posted on Updated on

The “White Night”

A point that should be made here, which Elihu will explain later, is that most of this isn’t necessary. Job compounds his misery and expands his sorrows by all his complaining. King David gave us hope in this hour of trial when he points out that the darkness isn’t dark to God. It only appears that way to us when we lose our view from heaven. Looking from God’s perspective, it’s as bright as day. There is nowhere we can flee from His Spirit or His presence (Psalm 139:7-12).

Whether we sense God’s presence or not, we can have the same assurance. There is no way to escape His presence, because He is everywhere at one time, filling every particle of the atmosphere with His energy. Like Paul said, the God whom we seek is not far from each of us because it is in Him we live and move and have our being (and isn’t that a joyous thought?) (Acts 17:27-28).

Job said in Chapter 23 that “whether I go forward or backward, I cannot perceive Him, to the left or to the right, I cannot see Him, But . . . He knows the way I take, and when He has tried me, I shall come forth as gold!”

Jesus felt deserted at the culmination of His dark hour when he cried out, “My God, My God, why have you forsaken me?” (Matthew 27:46).

During David’s time of testing and sifting, he believed that “perhaps the Lord will look upon my affliction and return good to me instead of cursing this day” (II Samuel 16:12).

During these times, the powers of darkness will aim their attacks on you as you follow the Lord through “the valley of the shadow of death.” The powers will try to beat you back from your position in Him. That is exactly why Job was brought to this point. The powers of darkness want you to admit that God has laid on you more than is right, that you must retreat to an easier path. They will shout at you: “Curse God and die!” Those dark powers will taunt you with the silence of the Lord and tell you that if He really did delight in you, if you were right with Him, He would have spared you from all this sorrow. They will present to you some compromise that will appear to be a way of escape. Your flesh and heart may very well fail you as it almost did the maiden, Job, and David.

David stood strong during his hour of trial with his testimony that “there is no one I have or nothing I desire besides thee, O God, though my heart and my flesh fail, God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever!” (Psalm 73:25-26).

When Jesus was suffering, he didn’t revile in return (I Peter 2:22-23) which is something we would do if we were in same situation. He accepted the Lord’s cup and drank deeply without grumbling, or complaining. And we are to follow in His steps! (I Peter 2:21). We are to follow the zeal of the maiden as she laid her hand of faith on the Head of Sacrifice on Calvary’s cross and wait for God to explain!

“Many waters cannot quench love,
Nor will rivers overflow it.
For love is as strong as death . . .
Love bears all things,
Hopes all things
Endures all things.
Love never fails.”
—Portions of the Song of Solomon 8 and I Corinthians 13

The Word of God tells us that David was cursed by his people and rejected. Job became a curse and a byword to his wife and friends. Everyone that once respected him now despised him. Satan had devised a plan to show God that two of the men who were the most dedicated to Him didn’t truly love Him—but his plan failed! Job boldly proclaimed “though He slay me yet will I trust Him.” The maiden said, “tell Him whom my soul loves that I am sick with love.”

After the struggle in Gethsemane, Satan had devised to totally crush the Living God and wipe Him from the universe forever—but this plan also failed! What Satan sent Job, David, the maiden, and even Jesus, was for their destruction. What was meant for evil became Satan’s own trap, because after the crucifixion inevitably came the resurrection! Our God reigns!

If you are interested, you can download the whole study of Job.

Other Bible Studies and Commentary are available at Doulos Studies.

Leave a Reply

