Letter to Christians in Rome: Chapter 9 (pt 7 of 13)

Posted on

After Jesus had asked his disciples what people were saying about him, he turned the question to the disciples and said, “Who do you say that I am?” He wanted to know what conclusions they had come to. Based on their experiences with him, had they come to see him for who he really was? This was the issue for them, and it is still the issue for us.

Have you come to the truth concerning Jesus for yourself? You see, is not simply what you believe intellectually about Jesus, what is important is whether it has shaken your life—has it so gripped you that it makes a difference in the way you live, the words you speak, the way you care for other? Has knowing that Jesus Christ is truly the Lord God made a difference in your life?

Let me get personal and share what knowing the truth about Jesus means in my life. Knowing that Jesus Christ, the infinite God-Man, loves me means that I can trust him with my life. It means that I know that he wants the best for me. Knowing that he left his throne of Glory and suffered as a man dying on a Cross for me means that I can rest secure in His care.

Knowing that Jesus Christ, the infinite God-Man, shed his blood on the Cross means that I can have confidence that any and every sin can be forgiven through his sacrifice. It means that there is no sin so terrible that Jesus cannot forgive it. It means that when I confess my sins I know that Jesus Christ will forgive those sins. Knowing that Christ died on the Cross for me means that I can trust that I have eternal life in him.

Knowing that Jesus Christ is the infinite God means that I can bow before him in worship. Knowing that he is who he said he was means that I am in contact with the living and divine One, God the Son. It means that I am in touch with the highest power in the universe. It also means that I can trust in his sovereign will for my life—that it will be accomplished just as he planned it to be.

Knowing about Jesus may bring you to him, but loving Jesus will change your life. You can know about Napoleon and never come to love him. You can know about George Washington and appreciate all the things he accomplished in his life, but you will never come to know him. You can also know about Jesus admire the wonderful things he did and taught . . . but never come to know him. Not only that, you can come to know him because he lives. Mohammed lived, died, and is still dead. Confucius lived, died, and is still dead. Buddha lived, died, and is still dead. However, Jesus lived, died, and rose again from the dead. He lives today. You and I can come to know him personally and intimately. Coming to know him will forever influence what we say about him. When we come to know him then we will come to truly know who He really is.

Leave a Reply

